Performing an Instant Rollback on a Deployment

Author:Alex Bonnetti
Updated:Jun 14, 2025

Learn how to perform an Instant Rollback on your production deployments and quickly roll back to a previously deployed production deployment.

Esadax provides Instant Rollback as a way to quickly revert to a previous production deployment. This can be useful in situations that require a swift recovery from production incidents, like breaking changes or bugs.

Table of Contents

Esadax's Instant Rollback

Esadax provides Instant Rollback as a way to quickly revert to a previous production deployment. This can be useful in situations that require a swift recovery from production incidents, like breaking changes or bugs.

How to roll back deployments

To initiate an Instant Rollback from the Esadax dashboard:

  1. Select your project
  2. Select the deployment to roll back to
  3. Verify the information
  4. Confirm the rollback

Select your project

Select your project on the Esadax dashboard.

Select the deployment to roll back to

From the project's overview page, click the Instant Rollback button next to the Production Deployment tile.

Verify the information

Verify that you are rolling back to the correct deployment and that there are no changes in Environment Variables.

Confirm the rollback

Confirm the rollback by clicking the Confirm Rollback button.

Successful rollback

The rollback happens instantaneously, and Esadax will point your domain and sub-domain back to the selected deployment.

Accessing Instant Rollback from Deployments tab

You can also roll back from the main Deployments tab in your dashboard. Filtering the deployments list by main is recommended to view a list of eligible roll back deployments.

Who can roll back deployments?

  • Hobby plan: On the hobby plan, you can roll back to the previous deployment.
  • Pro and Enterprise plan: Owners and Members on these plans can roll back to any eligible deployment.

Eligible deployments

Deployments previously aliased to a production domain are eligible for Instant Rollback. Deployments that have never been aliased to production a domain, e.g., most preview deployments , are not eligible.

Comparing Instant Rollback and manual promote options

To compare the manual promotion options, see Manually promoting to Production .